top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMargaret Spratt

Palpitations, Pass Outs, and Poorly Executed Plans

So it's spring break. Thursday, the 30th of March, to be exact, and I've concluded (slouched over my laptop at six in the morning on no sleep and extensive amounts of Dr. Pepper), that my plans for getting any amount of work done over the break have been … sort of … tossed aside. Thrown into the bin like a glob of tasteless, over-chewed gum. I guess you could argue that by finally writing a blog post about doing no work I am, inevitably, doing work, but my brain is full of wet sand at the moment, and I'm not emotionally stable enough for that kind of inception. Now, as I was saying, my plans for putting a dent in that mammoth-sized pile of homework have simply been eradicated. What was supposed to be a week of productivity, simplicity, and emotional stability, have devolved into me hunched over my laptop at five in the morning, watching The Vampire Diaries (a show I would never suggest to any well-adjusted human being), playing The Sims Freeplay waaaaay too competitively, and researching Star Wars episode nine fan theories far too often for my own good. It's gotten to the point where if I type an “F” on my computer, it wants to auto complete it to the words “force-choke”, and if that isn't a definitive sign that I need extensive amounts of therapy, I truly don't know what is. But besides the fact that I've essentially turned into the teenage girl version of Gollum on crack, I've had an okay week. It certainly beats the last fourteen days of school, which include too many daily palpitations to count, chest pains, and even, on occasion, losing consciousness. Which translates to trips to the hospital, to doctors appointments, to blood tests, to a cardiologist consolation, and so on. Basically, March kind of sucked. Not only do I have a heart that doesn't want to work properly, but I also DIDN'T READ A SINGLE NOVEL. NOT ONE.

To put this into perspective for all you non-readers out there, this is the longest I've gone without reading a book in … well … years. Literal years. And you may be wondering: have you also stopped purchasing so many books, then? To which the answer is: of course not. No, take it from the person who's watching the sun come up right now and is frantically trying to type their thoughts so they don't lose them, I have no self-control. The books, along with my emotional baggage, continue to pile up. They take up every nook and cranny in my blue-washed bedroom, to the point where I have no desk space left to do my homework (not that I would do it anyways because I'm a self-destructive millennial, but we've already been over this).

I guess you could say that self-preservation skills have escaped me.

Despite my extensive complaining, like I said before: I've had a good week. I made it through my POC presentation without stumbling or passing out, and now I feel I have a relatively clear, defined idea of my final project. A good wake up call for me was the conference I had with Mr. P and Mr. H. To put it in relatively simple terms, my project is improving my writing skills. To do this, I will have to read Max Lastname by Thea Wortley. Following this I'm going to contact Thea and discuss literary techniques she uses, along with getting feedback from her on my own writing. After meeting with Thea, my next steps will be making two lists: the first, 'Characteristics on Well-Written Characters', and the second, 'Characteristics of Well-Crafted Worlds/Setting'. After I've done this, I will continue read books while taking critical and well-thought-out notes, and apply the notes I take to my own writing.

Well, the sun has arisen, yet my mood has not. Tomorrow, like yesterday and the day before it, I will most likely be squinting at the brightness of my computer screen at five in the morning (again), watching Elena Gilbert (the brown-haired, I'm-Not-Like-Other-Girls main character) play a game of Who Will She Choose between Stefan (the tortured vampire with perfect hero-hair) and his brother Damon (tall, dark, and handsome sarcastic vampire who doesn't care about anything except when he wants to but Elena is his one weakness and wow I've never seen this before it's so original).


Until the next existential crisis,

Margaret Spratt

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sleep Deprived... a Perfect Start

Only three weeks in, and already I’m so exhausted I can barely stand to keep my eyes open. This, of course, is my own fault (not the fault of my teachers). It is possible I might have ‘bit off more th

bottom of page