top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMargaret Spratt

Sleep Deprived... a Perfect Start

Only three weeks in, and already I’m so exhausted I can barely stand to keep my eyes open. This, of course, is my own fault (not the fault of my teachers). It is possible I might have ‘bit off more than I can chew’ as the saying goes. With biology assignments stacking up, math homework keeping me in a constant state of stress, the volunteering commitment I made at the start of the semester, and health and PE requirements overflowing, I feel myself circling the drain of procrastination. Coupled with the deliverables of Propel (and the fact that I’m missing a whole day every single week), and … well… you get the picture.


This would be fine - I’ve heard some people actually thrive under stressful conditions. I, however, am not one of them. Stress, for me, is destructive. I lose sleep due to night terrors that get heightened when I’m stressed out, and, as a result, find it difficult to prompt myself to even attempt to sleep. Thus, we descend into the vicious cycle of sleep deprivation tangled with procrastination. A rather fine combination.


I think I'm making the situation sound worse than it actually is.


Propel, for me, is one of the only things that’s stable. It’s like my own personal anchor, keeping me from drifting out to sea, or drowning altogether. While my life otherwise appears to be hectic, I know that when I return to the Propel room at 9:00 am, all my worries will fade into the back of my mind. For a few hours, I’ll be calm. Thankfully, that’s enough to keep me coasting my way through my high school career.


Now, if you couldn’t tell: I’m a writer. I enjoy words and phrases and metaphors. I like putting together the pieces of a paragraph as though it’s a puzzle. The whole reason I joined Propel was to write, focusing on world-building and character development (because those two elements, along with the ability to wield words like a blade, are what makes a story so memorable). Writing a compilation of short stories and getting massive amounts of feedback are the bare-boned plans of my project.


Hopefully with more than three hours of sleep next time,


Margaret

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Palpitations, Pass Outs, and Poorly Executed Plans

So it's spring break. Thursday, the 30th of March, to be exact, and I've concluded (slouched over my laptop at six in the morning on no sleep and extensive amounts of Dr. Pepper), that my plans for ge

bottom of page